Criminal Courts in New York City

Federal Court or ''District Court'' or ''U.S. Court''

Where federal cases are heard — i.e. cases brought by the FBI, SEC, DEA or postal inspectors. The two federal courts in New York City are the Southern District of New York (500 Pearl Street), covering Manhattan, the Bronx and north of the city; and the Eastern District of New York (Cadman Plaza East, Brooklyn), covering Brooklyn, Queens and Long Island. There are satellite courthouses in White Plains and Islip, Long Island. New Jersey and all other states also have federal courts.

New York City Criminal Court

The initial court for state criminal cases brought in New York City. There are branches in each borough (the one in Manhattan is at 100 Center Street). Arraignments are held in criminal court — if there is an indictment, the case is moved to Supreme Court. If there is no indictment or if the case is a misdemeanor, it stays in Criminal Court.

State Supreme Court

Trial court for state felonies. There are branches in each county (Manhattan, Brooklyn, Queens, Bronx, Putnam, and Westchester).